What a night!

On September 22, 2016, over 220 supporters, clients, and Institute staff gathered to celebrate the contributions of refugees and immigrants to the prosperity and vibrancy of New England, and to see the Italian-born Chairman and CEO of Brooks Brothers Claudio Del Vecchio honored with the Institute's 35th Golden Door Award. 

In addition to hearing from the honoree about his commitment to the American textile industry, guests were also introduced to Thi Thi Aye, a former IINE client and today, an operations section supervisor at Southwick, a garment manufacturing firm in Haverhill, Mass. that makes 80% of Brooks Brothers suits. Thi Thi is one of nearly 100 IINE clients hired by Southwick over the last decade, and she shared her experience of getting her first promotion at Southwick and her future plans of purchasing a house.

Click the image below to view our full photo gallery form the 2016 Golden Door Award.

2016 Golden Door Award Honoree

The International Institute of New England is pleased to recognize Claudio Del Vecchio, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Brooks Brothers Group, Inc., with the 2016 Golden Door Award on September 22, 2016. Among his many accomplishments, the Italian-born Del Vecchio is recognized for his leadership in the garment industry in the United States and for revitalizing the nearly 200-year-old brand. Throughout New England's history, the story of immigration and the textile industry has been tightly interwoven. Today, this rich tradition continues in companies like Southwick in Haverhill, MA, where our clients stitch some of Brooks Brothers' finest suits. 

About the Golden Door Award

The Golden Door Award has been a cherished International Institute tradition for more than 40 years. The honoree is a U.S. citizen of foreign birth who has made an outstanding contribution to American society. The Award takes its name from Emma Lazarus’s words which are inscribed at the base of the Statue of Liberty declaring, “From her beacon hand glows world-wide welcome…I lift my lamp beside the golden door.” It is an occasion that calls us to stand together in celebration of the achievements of new Americans who have contributed so much to the fabric of our society.

Previous Golden Door Award Honorees

2016 Claudio Del Vecchio
2014 Omid Farokhzad
2013 Margaret Marshall
2011 Deborah Dunsire
2008 Mike Lowell
2007 Bejamin Zander
2006 Kenan E. Sahin
2005 Victor Dzau
2004 Alex D'Arbeloff
2003 Gabe Schmergel
2002 Orit Gadiesh
2001 Gururaj "Desh" Deshpande
1999 Henri Termeer
1998 Lelio "Les" Marino
1996 George N. Hatsopoulos
1994 Charles L. Schepens
1992 Farouk El-Baz

1989 Bernard Lown
1988 Yo-Yo Ma
1987 Arthur Loeb
1986 Thomas J. Flatley
1985 Jill Ker Conway
1983 John D. Constable
1982 An Wang
1981 Gerhard Neumann
1980 Laszlo J. Bonis
1979 Joseph Pellegrino
1978 Humberto Cardinal Medeiros
1977 Charles Maliotis
1976 Jean Mayer
1974 Gisela Wyzanski
1973 Stephen P. Mugar
1972 Anthony Athanas
1971 Arthur Fiedler
1970 I.M. Pei

2016 Golden Door
Corporate Sponsors

Lead Sponsor

Silver Sponsors

Copper Sponsor

Euro Sponsor

Bronze Sponsors

Block Binding & Interlinings LtD
Charles River Labs
COBAS srl - Pineto (TE) ITALY
Corderman & Company
East Boston Savings Bank
Expeditors International
Lucerne Textiles
Marcum LLP
Paradigm Properties
Parlee Farms LLC
Tessitura Marco Pastorelli Spa
Union Oyster House Restaurant
Webster Bank

Patron Sponsors

Alexander Aronson Finning CPAs
AMS Inc.
Arch Sewing Machine Company
Colliers International
Gamache Properties
Kufner Textile Corporation
Manning Personnel Group
QST Industries, Inc.
Seyfarth Shaw LLP
Tech Networks of Boston
Textile Import LLC

We would also like to thank everyone who has supported the Golden Door Award through individual ticket purchases and donations.