تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

بوسطن
2 شارع بويلستون، الطابق الثالث
بوسطن، ماساتشوستس 02116
617.695.9990

لويل
101 شارع جاكسون 101، شارع جاكسون، جناح 2
لويل، ماساتشوستس 01852
978.459.9031

مانشستر
470 شارع باين 470، الطابق السفلي
مانشستر، NH 03104
603.647.1500

اتصل بنا
into@iine.org into@iine.org
iine.org

للتواصل مع وسائل الإعلام
comms@iine.org

تابعنا

 

تبرع

شركة منزلية ناشئة للخياطة المنزلية: لاجئة أفغانية سابقة تجلب الملابس التقليدية إلى لويل

  21 نوفمبر 2023
loading="lazy"

تقول فريدة نيازي، وهي لاجئة سابقة من أفغانستان اتخذت من مدينة لويل بولاية ماساتشوستس موطناً لها منذ عام 2019، إنها تحب الحرية التي تشعر بها هنا.

"في الولايات المتحدة، الدين مختلف، و الجميع مختلف، ولكن لم يخبرني أحد عن حجابي أو عن أي شيء. هنا الشيء الجيد هو ما تفعلينه ومن أنتِ وما أنت عليه, وليس ما ترتديه. لهذا السبب أحب المكان هنا."

والآن بعد أن لم تعد فريدة تشعر بتوقع ارتداء الحجاب، فهي تغتنم الفرصة لاختيار ارتداء الحجاب. ومع ذلك، فقد كافحت فريدة والعديد من زميلاتها الأفغانيات اللاتي قابلتهن في لويل للعثور على ملابس تقليدية عالية الجودة.

"أرتدي الحجاب والملابس الطويلة. كنت أبحث. خاصة في الصيف عندما يكون الجو حارًا جدًا، يكون الأمر صعبًا. لم أجده. الكثير من العائلات من أفغانستان يأتون إلى هنا وفكرت أنه إذا I لدي هذه المشكلة فهم أيضاً لديهم هذه المشكلة أيضاً."

تقول فريدة أنه نظرًا لأنها عاشت في منطقة حضرية في أفغانستان وعملت كمدرسة، كان الانتقال إلى الحياة في لويل أسهل بالنسبة لها، ولكن العديد من النساء الأفغانيات في لويل من خلفيات مختلفة يمكن أن يكن "خجولات" ومترددات في مغادرة منازلهن. كما أن عدم وجود ملابس تشعرهن بالراحة والملاءمة يجعل الأمر أكثر صعوبة بالنسبة لهن، مما يزيد من عزلتهن.

الملابس والمواد المستخدمة في صناعة الملابس الأفغانية
تحصل فريدة من أفغانستان والهند وباكستان على أقمشة عالية الجودة من أفغانستان والهند وباكستان

وللمساعدة في مواجهة هذا التحدي، بدأت فريدة عملها الخاص في خياطة وتفصيل واستيراد الملابس الأفغانية التقليدية بأسعار معقولة. وهي تعمل عبر الواتساب مع بائعين في أفغانستان والهند وباكستان وتختار الأقمشة والملابس والإكسسوارات عالية الجودة وتشحنها. ثم تنشر الصور وتتلقى الطلبات من خلال صفحة لويل الأفغانية على فيسبوك. ويمكن للزبائن أن يأتوا إلى منزلها ليتحسسوا الأقمشة ويشاهدوا جودة الملابس. الأسعار قابلة للتفاوض، وتحاول أن تبقي الأسعار في متناول الجميع قدر الإمكان أثناء قيامها ببناء عملها. لقد مر عام تقريباً والأمور تسير على ما يرام.

"عندما يأتي الزبائن مرة واحدة، فإنهم يأتون مرة أخرى، والذين زاروا المكان، يخبرون الآخرين."

كانت فريدة قد علّمت نفسها الخياطة عندما كانت تعيش في أفغانستان، حيث كانت تقيس الأقمشة من خلال تحديد فساتينها وقصها من حولها. وقد حسّنت مهاراتها بفضل حصولها على آلات الخياطة في المعهد الدولي في نيو إنجلاند، حيث تربطها بعائلة نيازي علاقات عميقة. وعندما ساعد المعهد الدولي للمساعدة على إعادة توطين فريدة وزوجها وأطفالهما الثلاثة في لويل، وهو ما تقول عنه "شعرت بأنه نعمة من الله"، اجتمعت فريدة مع أفراد عائلتها الذين أعاد المعهد توطينهم في وقت سابق: والديها وشقيقتيها سفينة وحسينة اللتين تعملان الآن كأخصائيتين في المعهد الدولي للمساعدة على إعادة التوطين لمساعدة زملائهما اللاجئين.

ومن خلال هذا الاتصال، وجدت فريدة طريقة أخرى لمساعدة النساء الأفغانيات على الشعور بعزلة أقل في لويل. فخلال فصلي الصيف الماضيين، قادت فريدة مجموعات الخياطة الأسبوعية التي ينظمها معهد IINE للعميلات الأفغانيات. في بعض الأحيان تقوم بالتدريس، ولكن الأهم من ذلك أنها تعمل مع المترجمين الفوريين، فهي تمنح المشاركات فرصة الاختلاط مع بعضهن البعض ومع المتطوعين، بينما يعملن بشكل جماعي على حرفتهن. ويؤدي ذلك في بعض الأحيان إلى حصولهن على الدعم اللازم من العاملين في منظمة IINE.

ملابس أفغانية تقليدية، خياطتها فريدة
فستان أفغاني تقليدي من خياطة فريدة

"الشيء الجيد هو أننا منخرطون في المجتمع ونعرف بعضنا البعض. في بعض الأحيان يكون لدى الناس مشاكل لم يناقشوها. معرفة أنهم يتحدثون مع شخص يتحدث الإنجليزية أمر جيد للنساء الأفغانيات. في بعض الأحيان لم يكن لديهن وظائف، أو كانت لديهن مشاكل في المواعيد، أو كانت لديهن مشاكل في منازلهن، لكنهن لم يخبرن أحداً لأنهن لم يرغبن في شرحها".

تأمل فريدة أن تعمل بعض النساء اللاتي تخيط معهن معها عندما تتمكن يوماً ما من فتح متجر فعلي للملابس والخياطة في المجتمع. وقد أعرب العديد منهن بالفعل عن اهتمامهن بذلك. في هذه الأثناء، الحياة مشغولة ومليئة بأطفالها الثلاثة وطفلها حديث الولادة، والأقمشة الجميلة، وأصوات الهاتف الذي يطن بإشعارات الواتساب حول آخر طلبات الملابس.


شارك هذه القصة

مقالات ذات صلة

Skip to main content
Our Boston office will be closed from 3-5 PM on Tuesday, May 14 and Wednesday, May 15. Our Lowell office will be closed from 9 AM - 12 PM on Friday, May 17.

Home-Sewn Start-Up: A Former Afghan Refugee Brings Traditional Clothing to Lowell

  November 21, 2023

Farida Niazi, a former refugee from Afghanistan who has made Lowell, Massachusetts her home since 2019, says that she loves the freedom she feels here. 

“In the United States, religion is different, and everyone is different, but nobody told me about my hijab, or anything. Here the good thing is what you do and who you are, not what you wear. That’s why I love it here.”

Now that Farida no longer feels an expectation to wear a hijab, she embraces the opportunity to choose to do so. However, Farida and the many fellow Afghans she has met in Lowell have struggled to find high-quality, traditional clothing.

“I wear a hijab and long clothes. I was searching. Especially in summer when it’s really hot, it’s difficult. I didn’t find it. A lot of families from Afghanistan are coming here and I thought if I have this problem, they also have this problem.” 

Farida says that because she had lived in an urban area in Afghanistan and worked as a teacher, the transition to life in Lowell was easier for her, but that many Afghan women in Lowell with different backgrounds can be “shy” and hesitant to leave their homes. Not having clothes that feel appropriate and comfortable makes it even harder for them, increasing their isolation.  

Cloths and materials used to create Afghan clothing
Farida sources high-quality fabrics from Afghanistan, India, and Pakistan

To help address this challenge, Farida has started her own business sewing, tailoring, and importing traditional Afghan clothes at affordable prices. Working via WhatsApp with vendors in Afghanistan, India, and Pakistan, she chooses high-quality fabrics, clothing items, and accessories and has them shipped. She then posts pictures and takes orders through a Lowell Afghan Facebook Page. Customers can come to her home to feel the fabric and see the quality of the clothes. Prices are negotiable and she tries to keep things as affordable as possible while she’s building up her business. It’s been about a year and things are going well.

“When customers come once, they come again, and those who have visited, tell others.” 

Farida had taught herself to sew when she lived in Afghanistan, measuring fabric by outlining her own dresses and cutting around them. She improved her skills thanks to access to sewing machines at the International Institute of New England, where the Niazi family has deep ties. When IINE helped Farida, her husband and their three children resettle in Lowell, which she says “felt like a blessing from God,” she reunited with family members whom IINE had resettled earlier: her parents, and her sisters Safeena and Haseena who now both work as IINE Case Specialists helping fellow refugees.  

Through this connection, Farida has found another way to help Afghan women feel less isolated in Lowell. For the past two summers, she’s led IINE’s weekly sewing groups for Afghan women clients. Sometimes she teaches, but more importantly, working with interpreters, she gives participants the chance to socialize with one another and with volunteers, while communally working on their craft. Sometimes this leads to them getting needed support from their IINE case workers.

Traditional Afghan clothing, sewn by Farida
A traditional Afghan dress sewn by Farida

“The good thing is that we’re involved in the community, and we know each other. Sometimes people had problems they didn’t discuss. Knowing they’re talking to someone who speaks English is good for Afghan women. Sometimes they didn’t have jobs, they had trouble with appointments, or they had problems in their home, but they didn’t tell anyone because they didn’t want to have to explain.” 

Farida hopes that some of the women she sews with will work with her when she is one day able to open a physical clothing and tailor shop in the community. Many have already expressed interest. In the meantime, life is busy and filled with her three children and newborn baby, beautiful fabric, and the sounds of a phone buzzing with WhatsApp notifications about the latest clothing orders.  


SHARE THIS STORY

Related Articles