November 29, 2018 Golden Door Award Gala

InterContinental Boston
510 Atlantic Ave, Boston, MA 02210

6:00pm to 9:00pm

View The Event Album

Host Committee Co-Chairs
Dr. Noubar Afeyan,  Founder and CEO, Flagship Pioneering
Robert Millard,  Chairman, MIT Corporation

Host Committee
Stephane Bancel, Moderna
Howard Beber, Proskauer
Stephen Berenson, Flagship Pioneering
James A. Champy, Business Consultant
Charles Cooney, MIT
Desh Deshpande, Sparta Group
David Fialkow, General Catalyst
Lawrence K. Fish, Fish Family Foundation
John Fish, Suffolk Construction
Norm Gaut, SuperWater Solutions
Simba Gill, Evelo Biosciences
Arthur and Linda Gelb
Alan M. Leventhal, Beacon Hill Partners
David H. Long, Liberty Mutual Insurance
Joel Marcus, Alexandria Real Estate
Paul Marcus, Marcus Partners
Lore Harp McGovern, McGovern Institute
Regina Pisa, Goodwin Law
Linda Pizzuti Henry, The Boston Globe
Andrew Plump, Takeda
Edward Roberts, MIT
Michael Ringel, The Boston Consulting Group
Paul Sagan, General Catalyst
Kenan Sahin, Tiax LLC
Chris Viehbacher, Gurnet Point Capital
Michel Vounatsos, Biogen
Susan Whitehead, MIT
Susan Windham-Bannister, Biomedical Innovation Advisors

IINE Board of Directors
Jeffrey Thielman, President & CEO
Rita McDonough, CFO, Treasurer
Zoltan Csimma, Chair

Douglas Bailey, DB Media Strategies
Tara Chynoweth, Hologic Inc.
Jean Franchi, Merrimack Pharmaceuticals
Ginger Gregory, Biogen
Amy Hsuan, The Boston Consulting Group
William Krause, Northern Trust
Avak Kahvejian, Flagship Pioneering
Shari Loessberg, MIT
Frederick Millham, South Shore Hospital
Theo Melas-Kyriazi, LeviTronix LLC.
Deborah Shufrin, Brandeis University
Michael Wyzga, MSW Consulting Inc.

About Dr. L. Rafael Reif

Since July 2012, Rafael Reif has served as the 17th President of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), where he is leading MIT’s pioneering efforts to help shape the future of higher education.

A champion for both fundamental science and MIT’s signature style of interdisciplinary, problem-centered research, he is also pursuing an aggressive agenda to encourage innovation and entrepreneurship.

Dr. Reif received his undergraduate degree from Universidad de Carabobo, Valencia, Venezuela, and served for a year as an assistant professor at Universidad Simón Bolívar in Caracas. He earned his doctorate in electrical engineering from Stanford University and joined MIT’s faculty in 1980. Since assuming the role of MIT’s president in July 2012, he has pursued opportunities to focus the Institute strengths – in education, research, and innovation – to advance solutions to global challenges.

Under Dr. Reif’s leadership, MIT has demonstrated its sustained support for the Institute’s international students. Following the January 2017 federal travel ban of immigrants from predominantly Muslim countries, he penned an eloquent letter to the MIT community describing the ban as a violation of America’s values as a nation of immigrants: fairness, equality, openness, generosity and courage.

“In a nation made rich by immigrants,” he wrote at the time, “Why would we signal to the world that we no longer welcome new talent?”

IINE and MIT share a deep commitment to supporting the vital role immigrants play as catalysts in New England’s economy, industry, and innovation spaces. IINE is grateful to have this opportunity to recognize Dr. Reif’s leadership and vision.

About the event

The Golden Door Award has been an IINE tradition for more than 40 years. The honoree is a U.S. citizen of foreign birth who has made outstanding contributions to American society. It is an occasion that calls us to stand together in celebration of the achievements of new Americans who have played an integral role in our community, economy, and society.

The Award takes its name from Emma Lazarus’s words, which are inscribed at the base of the Statue of Liberty: “From her beacon hand glows world-wide welcome…I lift my lamp beside the golden door”.





Door of Opportunity

Community Light

Proskauer Logo