تخطي إلى المحتوى الرئيسي

بوسطن
2 شارع بويلستون، الطابق الثالث
بوسطن، ماساتشوستس 02116
617.695.9990

لويل
101 شارع جاكسون 101، شارع جاكسون، جناح 2
لويل، ماساتشوستس 01852
978.459.9031

مانشستر
470 شارع باين 470، الطابق السفلي
مانشستر، NH 03104
603.647.1500

الاتصال
info@iine.org
iine.org

للتواصل مع وسائل الإعلام
comms@iine.org

تابعنا

 

تبرع

سيُغلق مكتبنا في مانشستر من الساعة 11:30 صباحًا إلى 3:30 مساءً يوم الخميس 18 يوليو.

1954-1964 - "إغاثة اللاجئين على الحصص"

  30 يونيو 2024

مرحبًا بكم في الجزء الخامس من سلسلتنا "100 عام من الترحيب: إحياءً للذكرى المئوية لمعهد بوسطن الدولي في بوسطن." وصفت الدفعة السابقة، "1944-1953 - بيت للنازحين"، كيف عمل المعهد الدولي في بوسطن (IIB) على إعادة توطين ودمج أكثر من 10,000 شخص من النازحين بسبب الحرب العالمية الثانية وخدم مئات اللاجئين الفارين من الديكتاتوريات الشيوعية. وبعد ذلك في فترة الحرب الباردة، نجح IIB في التحول إلى وكالة تركز على احتياجات اللاجئين مع تحقيق خطوات كبيرة في مكافحة سياسة الهجرة المتحيزة. خلال هذه الفترة، ضغط المكتب الدولي للهجرة ضد سياسة الهجرة الأمريكية القائمة على "نظام الحصص" التمييزي المتمثل في وضع حد أقصى لعدد المهاجرين المقبولين من دول معينة.

مساعدة الانتفاضة المجرية

استجاب البنك الإسلامي الدولي بسرعة في الأشهر الأخيرة من عام 1956 عندما اندلعت أزمة جديدة في أحد الجيوب الشيوعية في أوروبا الشرقية في الوقت الذي كان قانون إغاثة اللاجئين لعام 1953 على وشك الانتهاء. في أكتوبر، خرج آلاف المجريين إلى الشوارع مطالبين بالتحرر من السيطرة السوفيتية. حاول السوفييت استرضاءهم بتعيين رئيس وزراء جديد ليبرالي، ولكن بحلول شهر نوفمبر، أثبت إيمري ناجي أن إيمري ناجي ليبراليًا للغاية. وبدلاً من رجل الدولة، أرسل السوفييت الآن دبابات الجيش إلى بودابست. مات 2500 مجري في مناوشات في الشوارع وفر 200,000 آخرين كلاجئين.

وبالعودة إلى بوسطن، سارع المعهد الدولي للتنسيق مع الحكومة الفيدرالية لقبول أكبر عدد ممكن من اللاجئين المجريين قبل انتهاء صلاحية قانون إغاثة اللاجئين في نهاية ديسمبر/كانون الأول. تم السماح لبعضهم بالدخول بحلول نهاية العام، ولكن في نهاية المطاف تم قبول المزيد منهم بعد ذلك بموجب أول استخدام في البلاد لـ"الإفراج المشروط الإنساني"، والذي سمح للمهاجرين المهددين بدخول الولايات المتحدة في ظروف طارئة، ولكن بحقوق وحماية محدودة. في عام 1958، أصدر الكونجرس قانونًا يسمح للمجريين الذين تم الإفراج المشروط عنهم بأن يصبحوا مقيمين دائمين في الولايات المتحدة بشكل قانوني، مما شكل سابقة مهمة. 

نجح المعهد الدولي في توطين المئات من اللاجئين المجريين في بوسطن وأنشأ نادياً اجتماعياً مجرياً لمساعدتهم على دعم بعضهم البعض. وفي غضون سنوات قليلة، سيصبح مهاجر مجري يدعى غاسبار جاكو أول سكرتير تنفيذي للمعهد الدولي في بوسطن يولد خارج الولايات المتحدة. 

مناصرو الأرمن

جاء انتصار آخر على نظام الحصص في عام 1959 عندما شهد المجلس الوطني للهجرة وإعادة توطين الأرمن (NCIRA)، الذي تأسس في المعهد الدولي، أمام اللجنة القضائية في مجلس الشيوخ الأمريكي أنه على الرغم من استمرار اضطهاد الأرمن في الخارج، بما في ذلك العديد من الذين أدى بهم النزوح إلى البلدان السوفيتية، فإن تراكم التأشيرات المتراكمة في معالجة التأشيرات كان يمنعهم من الانضمام إلى عائلاتهم وزملائهم اللاجئين في الولايات المتحدة. 

كان الأرمن المضطهدون يستوطنون في بوسطن منذ أواخر تسعينيات القرن التاسع عشر، وكانت لهم مستوطنات كبيرة في حي ساوث إند في بوسطن، ومدينة كامبريدج المجاورة، والشاطئ الشمالي الشمالي لين وتشيلسي، والأهم من ذلك، في مدينة واترتاون الكبرى في بوسطن، والتي كانت نسبة الأرمن فيها بحلول ثلاثينيات القرن العشرين 10%. وقد خدم المعهد هؤلاء السكان منذ أيامه الأولى، حيث قام بتوظيف "عمال الجنسية" للجالية الأرمنية في سنة تأسيسه عام 1924.

وقد ساعدت شهادة اللجنة الوطنية المستقلة للإصلاح الجنائي في تمرير القانون العام رقم 86/363، وهو تعديل على قانون قانون مكاران-والتر الذي أعفى العديد من أزواج وأبناء المهاجرين المولودين في الخارج من جميع أنحاء العالم الذين حصلوا على الجنسية الأمريكية من حصص بلدانهم لغرض لم شمل الأسرة.

رسالة إلى الرئيس كينيدي

في عام 1960، ترشح للرئاسة جون فيتزجيرالد كينيدي المولود في بوسطن، وهو أمريكي من الجيل الثاني من الأمريكيين ذوي الجذور العميقة في أيرلندا، على أساس برنامج انتخابي مؤيد بشدة للمهاجرين. "يجب أن تكون سياسة الهجرة سخية وعادلة ومرنة." وقال في حملته الانتخابية. "مع مثل هذه السياسة، يمكننا أن نلتفت إلى العالم، وإلى ماضينا، بأيدٍ نظيفة وضمير مرتاح."

في عام 1961، انتهز المعهد الدولي في بوسطن الفرصة التي أتاحها انتخاب كينيدي لمواصلة كفاحه ضد نظام الحصص بإرسال رسالة إلى الرئيس الجديد يحثه فيها على العمل بقيمه و"أخذ زمام المبادرة في تطوير نظام هجرة إنساني غير تمييزي..." 

ودعت الرسالة إلى "الاستعاضة عن نظام الحصص الحالي للأصول الوطنية بطريقة أكثر إنصافًا وغير تمييزية في الاختيار... والتركيز بشكل أكبر في التشريعات على لم شمل الأسر"، و"إدراج حكم دائم في قانون الهجرة الأساسي لـ... اللاجئين من أي منطقة لجوء، وللأشخاص ذوي المهارات الخاصة التي يحتاجها اقتصادنا".

وفي وقت لاحق من ذلك العام، وقّع الرئيس كينيدي على تعديل قانون مكاران-والتر الذي يتناول استخدام حصص الدول. وقد أصلح التعديل نظام الحصص بإلغاء بعض معاييره القائمة صراحة على العرق، وإعادة تخصيص التأشيرات غير المستخدمة إذا لم يتم استيفاء الحصص، وإعطاء أولوية منح التأشيرات لأقارب المهاجرين لتعزيز لم شمل الأسرة، وللاجئين، وتوسيع فئات المهاجرين الذين لا يخضعون للحصص.

عند التوقيع على مشروع القانون، صرح الرئيس كينيدي بفخر قائلاً: "لقد أزلنا ظلمًا طال أمده في طريقة تخصيص حصص الهجرة، استنادًا إلى صيغة كانت بالية وغير عادلة."

في وقت لاحق من عام 1961، عندما اندلعت الثورة الشيوعية في كوبا المجاورة، ستتاح للرئيس كينيدي الفرصة مرة أخرى لإثبات التزامه تجاه المهاجرين المضطهدين. فمن خلال برنامجه الخاص باللاجئين الكوبيين، بالإضافة إلى استخدام الإفراج الإنساني المشروط، ستقبل إدارته أكثر من 200,000 شخص من الفارين من كوبا إلى الولايات المتحدة. ومن خلال العمل مع لجنة الكنائس للاجئين التابعة لمجلس الكنائس في ماساتشوستس والمجلس الوطني للرعاية الكاثوليكية، ساعد المعهد الدولي في بوسطن الآلاف من هؤلاء المهاجرين الكوبيين على إعادة التوطين في بوسطن.

واصل كينيدي الضغط من أجل مزيد من الإصلاحات في مجال الهجرة بما يتماشى تمامًا مع طلبات المعهد الدولي في مدينته. وفي خطاب وطني في عام 1963، قال لمواطنيه في خطاب وطني في عام 1963 "لا مكان لنظام حصص الأصول القومية في أسلوب الحياة الأمريكية. إنه مفارقة تاريخية لم تعد تعكس واقع مجتمعنا أو القيم التي نعتز بها. أحث الكونجرس على إصدار تشريع ينشئ نظامًا أكثر إنصافًا، نظامًا يعطي الأولوية للم شمل الأسر ومهارات ومواهب المهاجرين المحتملين."

الاستعداد لعصر جديد
في عام 1964، حصل المعهد على منزل جديد. اشترت المنظمة المتنامية مبنى خاصًا بها في 287 شارع الكومنولث في حي باك باي في بوسطن وجمعت أكثر من 100,000 دولار من مجلس إدارتها وأعضائها لتجهيز المكان للعمل على القضايا والدروس والفعاليات الثقافية. انتقل الموظفون إلى المبنى وبدأوا العمل في الوقت المناسب - قبل عام واحد فقط من مشروع قانون إصلاح الهجرة التاريخي الذي من شأنه أن يغير سياسة الهجرة - وعمل المنظمة إلى الأبد.

واليوم، على بعد أكثر من ميل واحد في مكاتبنا في شارع بويلستون، يواصل المعهد الدولي تركيزه على الترحيب باللاجئين وإعادة توطينهم، حيث يخدم الآن أكثر من 20,000 مهاجر سنويًا من 75 دولة غير مستقرة في جميع أنحاء العالم. وبناءً على عمل المائة عام الماضية، يواصل المعهد الدولي للهجرة وأنصاره أيضًا تقليد الدعوة الشرسة لنظام كينيدي "العادل وغير التمييزي" للهجرة مع المزيد من مسارات الدخول والنفاذ والأمن لطالبي اليوم للسلامة والحرية ومستقبل أفضل.

خلال عامنا المئوي، نحتفل بمرور 100 عام من الدعم الذي غيّر حياة اللاجئين والمهاجرين في بوسطن الكبرى ونستعد للقرن الثاني من خدمتنا. اعرف المزيد هنا: الذكرى المئوية لـ IINE بوسطن.


شارك هذه القصة

مقالات ذات صلة

Skip to main content

Our Lowell office is closed on Wednesday, July 17.

1954–1964 – “Refugee Relief Over Quotas”

  June 30, 2024

Welcome to the fifth installment of our series “100 Years of Welcome: Commemorating IINE’s Boston Centennial.” The previous installment, “1944-1953 – A Home for the Displaced,” described how the International Institute of Boston (IIB) worked to resettle and integrate more than 10,000 people displaced by the Second World War and served hundreds of refugees fleeing communist dictatorships. Further into the Cold War period, IIB successfully transitioned into an agency focused on the needs of refugees while also making significant strides in the fight against the biased immigration policy. During this period, IIB lobbied against U.S. immigration policy based on the discriminatory “quota system” of setting caps on the number of immigrants admitted from designated countries.

Help for Hungarian Uprising

IIB responded quickly in the last months of 1956 when a new crisis erupted in a communist enclave of Eastern Europe just as the Refuge Relief Act of 1953 was set to expire. In October, thousands of Hungarians took to the streets demanding freedom from Soviet control. The Soviets tried appeasing them by appointing a liberal new premier, but by November, Imry Nagi had proven too liberal. Instead of a statesman, the Soviets now sent army tanks into Budapest. Twenty-five hundred Hungarians died in street skirmishes and 200,000 more fled as refugees.  

Back in Boston, the International Institute raced to coordinate with the federal government to admit as many Hungarian refugees as possible before the Refugee Relief Act was to expire at the end of December. Some were let in by the end of the year, but ultimately more were admitted afterward under the nation’s first use of “humanitarian parole,” which allowed threatened immigrants to enter the U.S. during emergency circumstances, but with limited rights and protections.  In 1958, Congress passed a law allowing Hungarian parolees to become lawful permanent residents of the United States, setting an important precedent. 

The International Institute successfully settled hundreds of Hungarian refugees in Boston and created a Hungarian social club to help them support one another. Within a few years, a Hungarian immigrant named Gaspar Jako would become the first Executive Secretary of the International Institute of Boston to be born outside of the U.S. 

Armenians Advocate

Another victory over the quota system came in 1959 when the National Council for Immigration and Resettlement of Armenians (NCIRA), founded at the International Institute, testified before the U.S. Senate Judiciary Committee that despite the continued persecution of Armenians abroad, including many whose displacement had led them to Soviet countries, a backlog in visa processing was preventing them from joining their families and fellow refugees in the U.S. 

Persecuted Armenians had been settling in Boston since the late 1890s, and had significant settlements in Boston’s South End neighborhood, the neighboring city of Cambridge, the North Shore cities of Lynn and Chelsea, and most significantly, in the Greater Boston city of Watertown, which by the 1930s was 10% Armenian. IIB served this population from its earliest days, hiring “Nationality Workers” for the Armenian community in its founding year of 1924.

The NCIRA’s testimony would help lead the passage of Public Law 86/363, an amendment to the McCarran-Walter Act, which exempted many foreign-born spouses and children of immigrants from all over the world who had achieved U.S. citizenship from their country quotas for the purpose of family reunification. 

A Letter to President Kennedy

In 1960, Boston native John Fitzgerald Kennedy, a second-generation American with deep roots in Ireland, ran for president on a staunchly pro-immigrant platform. “Immigration policy should be generous; it should be fair; it should be flexible,” he said on the campaign trail. “With such a policy, we can turn to the world, and to our own past, with clean hands and a clear conscience.” 

In 1961, the International Institute of Boston seized the opportunity presented by Kennedy’s election to continue its fight against the quota system by sending a letter to the newly minted president urging him to act on his values and “take the lead in developing a non-discriminatory, humanitarian immigration system…” 

The letter called for “replacing the present national origins quota system by a more equitable and non-discriminatory method of selection…greater emphasis in legislation on family reunion,” and a “Permanent provision in the basic immigration law for…refugees from any refugee area, and to persons with special skills needed by our economy.”

Later that year, President Kennedy signed an amendment to the McCarran–Walter act addressing its use of country quotas. The amendment reformed the quota system by eliminating some of its explicitly race-based criteria, reallocating unused visas if quotas had not been met, giving visa priority to immigrants’ relatives to promote family reunification and to refugees, and expanding the categories of immigrants who were not subject to quotas.

Upon signing the bill, President Kennedy proudly stated, “We have removed a long-standing injustice in the way that immigration quotas are allocated, based on a formula that was obsolete and unfair.”

Later in 1961, when communist revolution flared in nearby Cuba, President Kennedy would again have the opportunity to prove his commitment to persecuted immigrants. Through his Cuban Refugee program, as well as the use of humanitarian parole, his administration would admit more than 200,000 people fleeing Cuba to the U.S. Working with the Massachusetts Council of Churches Refugee Committee and National Catholic Welfare Council, the International Institute of Boston helped thousands of these Cuban immigrants to resettle in Boston.

Kennedy continued to push for greater immigration reforms exactly in line with the requests from the International Institute in his home city. In a national address in 1963, he told his fellow citizens, “The national origins quota system has no place in the American way of life. It is an anachronism that no longer reflects the realities of our society or the values we cherish. I urge the Congress to pass legislation that will establish a more equitable system, one that prioritizes family reunification and the skills and talents of prospective immigrants.”

Preparing For a New Era
In 1964, IIB secured a new home. The growing organization purchased its own building at 287 Commonwealth Avenue in Boston’s Back Bay neighborhood and raised more than $100,000 from its Board of Directors and membership to outfit the space for case work, classes, and cultural events. Staff moved in and began operations just in time—one year before a landmark immigration reform bill that would change immigration policy—and IINE’s work—forever.

Today, just over a mile away in our offices on Boylston Street, the International Institute continues its focus on welcoming and resettling refugees, now serving more than 20,000 immigrants a year from 75 destabilized countries worldwide. Building on the work of the last 100 years, IINE and its supporters also continue the tradition of fierce advocacy for Kennedy’s “equitable and non-discriminatory” system of immigration with more pathways to entrance, permeance, and security for today’s seekers of safety, freedom, and a better future.

During our centennial year, we celebrate 100 years of life-changing support to refugees and immigrants in Greater Boston and prepare for our second century of service. Learn more here: IINE Boston Centennial.


SHARE THIS STORY

Related Articles