Skip to main content

Our Lowell office is closed on Wednesday, July 17.

golden door award

The Golden Door Award has been an IINE tradition for more than 50 years. The honoree is an immigrant to the United States who has made outstanding contributions to American society. 


Srikant M. Dakar

Dean, Harvard Business School

May 15, 2023 • Farimont Copley Hotel

VIP registration begins at 5:30pm and General Registration at 6pm
Program Conclusion at 9pm
Dress code is business attire

About The Event

The Gala is an occasion that calls us to stand together in celebration of the achievements of new Americans who have played an integral role in our community, economy, and society. The award takes its name from Emma Lazarus’s words, which are inscribed at the base of the Statue of Liberty: “From her beacon hand glows world-wide welcome… I lift my lamp beside the golden door.”

Srikant M. Datar

Dean, Harvard Business School

Srikant M. Datar is the George F. Baker Professor of Administration and Dean of the Faculty and became the eleventh dean of Harvard Business School (HBS) on 1 January 2021. During his tenure at HBS he has served as Senior Associate Dean for University Affairs, for Research, for Executive Education, for Faculty Development, and for Faculty Recruiting.

A graduate with distinction from the University of Bombay, Dr. Datar received gold medals upon graduation from the Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad, and the Institute of Cost and Works Accountants of India. A Chartered Accountant, he holds two masters degrees and a Ph.D. from Stanford University.

Dr. Datar’s research in the areas of cost management and management control, strategy implementation, governance, and, more recently, management education, design thinking and innovative problem solving, and machine learning and artificial intelligence is widely published.

Before joining the HBS faculty he held appointments at both Carnegie Mellon University and Stanford University, where he received the George Leland Bach Award for Excellence in the Classroom and the Distinguished Teaching Award, respectively.
Dr. Datar serves on the Board of Directors of ICF International, Stryker Corporation, and T-Mobile US, and has worked with many corporations on consulting and field-based projects.

Host Committee

Noubar Afeyan • Ph.D., Founder & CEO, Flagship Pioneering and Chairman, Moderna
Marc N. Casper • Chairman, President & CEO, Thermo Fisher Scientific
Jorge Conde • General Partner, Andreessen Horowitz
John P. Connaughton • Co-Managing Partner, Bain Capital, LP
Desh Deshpande • Trustee, Deshpande Foundation
Jamie Dimon • Chairman & Chief Executive Officer, JPMorgan Chase
Oliver Ewald • Managing Partner, Trellis Holdings
Said Francis • SVP, Head of Business Development & Corporate Strategy, Moderna
Tracey Franklin • Chief Human Resources Officer, Moderna
Paul Garrido • SVP, Private Wealth Manager – The Sharma Group, Merrill Lynch
Jean Hynes • CEO, Wellington Management Company
Reshma Kewalramani • M.D., FASN, CEO and President, Vertex Pharmaceuticals
Seth Klarman • Portfolio Manager & CEO, The Baupost Group
Adam Koppel • M.D., Ph.D., Managing Director, Bain Capital Life Sciences
Jonathan Kraft • President, The Kraft Group
Robert Kraft • Chairman & CEO, The Kraft Group
Oliver Leclerc • Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company
Mark Levin • Chairman, The Possible Zone
Stuart Levinson • CEO & Co-Founder, OpenCompany
John Maraganore • Former Founding CEO, Alnylam Pharmaceuticals
Terry McGuire • Co-Founder and General Partner, Polaris Partners
Theo Melas-Kyriazi • Advisor Partner, Flagship Pioneering
Michael Nally • CEO, Generate Biomedicines
Vas Narasimhan • CEO, Novartis International
Steve Pagliuca • Senior Advisor, Bain Capital Private Equity, Managing Partner & Co-Owner, Boston Celtics
Evan Rachlin • Co-Founder and Managing Partner, Ascenta Capital
Raj Sharma • Managing Director, Private Wealth Advisor – The Sharma Group, Merrill Lynch
Mike Sievert • CEO, T-Mobile
Lisa Skeete Tatum • Founder and CEO, Landit
Mark Tatum • Deputy Commissioner, National Basketball Association
Teresa A. Taylor • CEO, Blue Valley Advisors, LLC
John Wasson • President & CEO, ICF

IINE Board of Directors

Avak Kahvejian, PhD, (Board Chair)
Christina Bai
Sam Épée-Bounya
Tuan Ha-Ngoc
Belinda Juran
William Krause
Shari Loessberg
Bopha Malone
Libby May
Theo Melas-Kyriazi
Frederick Millham, M.D.
Nia Tatsis, Ph.D.
Jeff Thielman (President and CEO)
Fereshtah Thornberg

Past Golden Door Award Honorees

1970 – M. Pei
1971 – Arthur Fiedler
1972 – Anthony Athanas
1973 – Stephen P. Mugar
1974 – Gisela Wyzanski
1976 – Jean Mayer
1977 – Charles Maliotis
1978 – Humberto Sousa Cardinal Medeiros
1979 – Joseph Pellegrino
1980 – Laszlo J. Bonis
1981 – Gerhard Neumann
1982 – An Wang
1983 – John D. Constable
1985 – Jill Ker Conway

1986 – Thomas J. Flatley
1987 – Arthur Loeb
1988 – Yo-Yo Ma
1989 – Bernard Lown
1992 – Farouk El-Baz
1994 – Charles L. Schepens
1996 – George N. Hatsopoulos
1998 – Lelio “Les” Marino
1999 – Henri A. Termeer
2001 – Gururaj “Desh” Deshpande
2002 – Orit Gadiesh
2004 – Gabriel Schmergel
2004 – Alex d’Arbeloff

2005 – Victor Dzau
2006 – Kenan E. Sahin
2007 – Benjamin Zander
2008 – Mike Lowell
2011 – Deborah Dunsire
2013 – The Honorable Margaret Marshall
2014 – Omid Farokhzad
2016 – Claudio Del Vecchio
2017 – Noubar Afeyan
2018 – L. Rafael Reif
2019 – Joseph Aoun
2021 – Reshma Kewalramani, M.D.
2022 – Stéphane Bancel

Platinum Torchbearer Sponsors

Benefactor Sponsors

Champion Sponsors

Advocate Sponsors

Partner Sponsors

Promoter Sponsors

Ally Sponsors

Friend Sponsors